Song Challenge – Song I Wish I Could Play

17 May

I have been playing guitar for around 10 years… which, when saying that, sounds surprisingly long.  In my entire guitar playing career my skill level refuses to increase.  I basically hit this gap when I was 17, and, since then, overcoming this gap has been a pain in the ass.  Sure, I’ve learned new chords, I’ve figured out mildly different picking patterns.  But, in the end, I fall back upon playing the same strumming pattern or the same 4-5 chord structure that I’ve always had.

This would all be okay if I obtained the ability to sing.  My voice is awful.  In all reality, I probably shouldn’t be playing music.  Yet, I have recorded nearly 300 songs.  A lot of them are instrumental or me joking around or me getting friends to sing or me making shit up.  So, you know, oh well.  Key note: I program most of my music now.  I can see music, but I can’t necessarily hear it.

Here’s “Phantom Other” a song that, in the end, isn’t too difficult to play.  But, I will probably never be able to play it myself.  I can guess and come up with something, but it will mostly be me just strumming a couple of chords and skipping over the rest.

I’m jealous.  It’s a great song.  It builds and builds.  I will never be able to pull it off.

But, I’m very glad someone has.

-0-0-0-0-0-

The end is in sight!  Check out the other SONG CHALLENGES by following the link!

One Response to “Song Challenge – Song I Wish I Could Play”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 Day Song Challenge « MechanisticMoth - May 17, 2012

    […] a song that makes you laugh day 26 – a song that you can play on an instrument day 27 – a song that you wish you could play day 28 – a song that makes you feel guilty day 29 – a song from your childhood day 30 […]

Leave a Reply

