Writing Challenge #38: My Favorite Food(s)

17 Mar

I like food.  Quite a lot, actually.  It keeps me buzzing around.  My problem is that I probably don’t eat enough (have to maintain my scarecrow-like figure) and I’m a college student on a limited budget.  So, I don’t go all fancy that often while cooking at home.  Though, I do tend to dine out every now and again.

My one stipulation is that I cannot handle spicy food… at all.  It’s really unfortunate, but that’s the way things go.

I have mastered some dishes that I enjoy:

Like cheesy tots.  You basically put a bunch of cheese on tater tots and put them in the oven for a bit.  I also like to put just a bit of curry powder on them with some salt and pepper.  Just a hint, but it adds a lot of flavor.

I also make really good nachos with the layers going in the order of: Chips – Cheese – Black Beans – Onions – Red Bell Pepper – Cheese.

Another great dish I make is a root vegetable medley.  You cut up beets, parsnip, potatoes, and yams (or sweet potatoes).  Put them in a pyrex dish.  Mix them with olive or vegetable oil and salt and pepper.  Then, put them in the oven at 350° for about 45 minutes stirring occasionally.  When I went to Mexico to stay with my grandparents for a week, we had a potluck at the American Legion.  I made this dish and had a bunch of old ladies come up to me for the recipe… which is deathly simple.

Potato Burritos is another specialty of mine.  Just fry up some potatoes (I like thinly chopped so you can fit more into your burrito later), mix in some black beans, you can also add some egg if you want (but that makes it more breakfast burrito-y), and put a thin line of ketchup on it.

My Mom also makes some really good dishes like a leek tart or enchiladas.  In addition, my Dad has mastered his smoker and makes the most amazing ribs ever.

There’s some ideas on my favorite foods.  I have one to fit any occasion.

-0-0-0-0-0-

Getting closer to the end of the WRITING CHALLENGE!  Click the link to see the archive thus far.

2 Responses to “Writing Challenge #38: My Favorite Food(s)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WRITING CHALLENGE! « MechanisticMoth - March 20, 2012

    […] Writing Challenge #38: My Favorite Food(s) « MechanisticMoth – March 17, 2012 […] closer to the end of the WRITING CHALLENGE!  Click the link to see the archive thus far. Share this:TwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like […] […]

  2. Final WRITING CHALLENGE – A Look Back « MechanisticMoth - March 23, 2012

    […] My favorite food(s) […]

Leave a Reply

