Writing Challenge #27: Favorite Animal

6 Mar

My Favorite Animal:

Growing up my favorite animals were frogs of all sorts.

As hinted at earlier, I was highly encouraged to go hunting for frogs, salamanders, newts, and other creatures as long as I observed and respected the animals.  Sure, I caught some and brought them home, but we made sure to keep them healthy.  It probably helped that we hand a pond in the backyard.

A newly discovered poison dart frog species (discovered in 2006)

Frogs are just so cool and varied.  They come in all shapes and sizes and have different abilities.  It’s amazing how frogs have developed across continents and have specialized in certain areas of living.

Some glass frogs have zany eyes and are also see through

One thing I have indebted towards frogs is my lovely frog sweater that my mom purchased for me at a garage sale when I was in the third grade.  It was my camping sweater, but somehow it’s made it through all of these years.  So many people (particularly ladies) have come up to me and asked me where I got it/complimented it.  Most recently, I wore it to the Breathe Owl Breathe concert, and had a lady and a guy together tell me how awesome it is.  Really quite flattering.  I basically wore it every other day my freshmen year of college so people would know me as “that guy”.  It was like I was swimming in a harem (everyone included!).

On our way back from the NWCA conference in 2011

Frogs are really cool, and it’s a shame that we’re hurting their habitat and causing all sorts of mutations.  So please, don’t litter particularly near ponds and streams.  Otherwise, you get something like this:

Eghhh

-0-0-0-0-0-

For the whole WRITING CHALLENGE, take a gander at the link!

5 Responses to “Writing Challenge #27: Favorite Animal”

  1. chelsea March 6, 2012 at 8:27 PM #

    I remember you amazing frog wall paper! And I still have your frog necklace at my dads house 🙂

    • MechanisticMoth March 6, 2012 at 11:14 PM #

      That’s awesome, that necklace was the best!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WRITING CHALLENGE! « MechanisticMoth - March 10, 2012

    […] My favorite animal […]

  2. Writing Challenge #41: Perfect Date « MechanisticMoth - March 20, 2012

    […] (making them panthers…).  We’ll cascade through the forest discovering new species of frogs.  Then the sweet music of Jehosaphinia will play and we’ll travel through the place between […]

  3. Final WRITING CHALLENGE – A Look Back « MechanisticMoth - March 23, 2012

    […] My favorite animal […]

Leave a Reply

