Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #7: Review!

28 Feb

Some of you may be wondering, “what happened to that Turtles guy who did all of the reviews?” after I neglected to post a review for issue #6.  Well, I’d like to reply that it did absolutely nothing for me.  How am I to write on something that I just toss away and forget about?

The last issue was very bad because it was so unremarkable.

This issue just continues the trend of bad dialogue and lack of detail in the art.  Let’s tackle the dialogue/writing through some examples:

“It’s high time he and I get together… [cut to Krang’s menacing, pink, alien body] for a little FACE-TO-FACE.”  Krang says this when he’s angry at Stockman and we discover that Krang is the unfortunate blasphemy of the Utrom idea from Mirage.  Krang mirrors the style of his kids show variant only with a more intimidating host/mechanical body.  I’m not okay with this decision, but I realize that I must get past it in order to fairly review the comic.

“righteous dude” “bustin’ their humps” “that Rat-man digs it.”  Here’s some excerpts from Mikey’s conversation with the pizza boy character.  They’re trying WAY TOO HARD to have hip dialogue.  Do people still talk like this?  Or do comic writers just think people talk like this?

“To what do I owe the pleasure of this unexpected visit, hm?”  Classic line… so classic I’ve seen it in so many other places.  Is it a trope?  Is it!?

“Get showered, slugger – We got a paper to knock out!”  Puns!

Over in the art corner, we have Dan Duncan’s impressive scratchinesss/heavy line working its magic in (most of) the action scenes.  However, when we get a half-splash like on THE VERY FIRST PAGE of a war zone, there’s 2 or so tanks that have been blown up and a few scattered bodies.  THIS IS ONE HECK OF A WAR, isn’t it?  I can see why Krang is soooo worried.

The only thing that saves Duncan’s talking scenes are the colors that add some really nice texture and prettiness despite being so focused on setting up an atmosphere with the tones.  At one point they both fail when I can’t tell if April’s walking into a wall or through a door with a “Ladies” sign hanging up as decoration.

Some nice things:

Despite all of these problems, I was still interested in what happened in the next issue if only because I know there’s going to be more fighting which both the writing and art excel at.  The mousers still intrigue me especially with this variation upon the concept (but how does Old Hob control all of them with a remote that has about 6 buttons on it?).

I’d like to give props to Duncan for giving April a fairly normal body with fairly normal proportions.  She’s not exploited in the least.  It’s sad that I have to applaud this (when this should just be considered normal), but taking notice always helps.

Conclusion:

The writing has the basic plots down which work really well and are quite layered, but the details in the actual dialogue and execution cause the whole thing to end up as a mess.  I really want to like this comic, but it’s hook is getting dull and I’m slipping away.

I just cut 8 titles from my pull list, this may be next.  As a turtles fan, that hurts so much.

One Response to “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #7: Review!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Infestation 2 Issue 1 – Review! « MechanisticMoth - March 8, 2012

    […] series does not.  I have lamented on the state of direction for the title series (most recently in my review for issue #7), but this issue provides me with so much hope for the future of the […]

Leave a Reply

