Writing Challenge #15: My Favorite Movie

22 Feb

))<>((

If you know me really well, then you’ve probably seen this movie with me.  If you haven’t, then you’re probably going to.  I watch this film probably twice a year meaning I’ve probably seen it 12 times.  THAT IS A LOT OF MOVIE VIEWING.

Sure, sure, some of you have probably seen Episodes IV-VI of Star Wars dozens of times.  Well, I don’t do that.  It’s hard for me to watch movies more than a couple of times.  I get really bored of them, and they cease to surprise me.  Me and You and Everyone We Know always surprises me.  I find new things in it every time I watch it – little perfect (or imperfect) details.

Just go and look at its IMDB page.  Every line is memorable.  My favorite (aside from the yelling of “fuck”) happens to be:

I don’t want to have to do this living. I just walk around. I want to be swept off my feet, you know? I want my children to have magical powers. I am prepared for amazing things to happen. I can handle it.

It’s my favorite movie because it acknowledges that I exist.  It’s perfect love: love that has its problems but that you’ll always be there for one another.  Love in everyone and everything.  Interconnectedness when we didn’t really know it.

What more can you ask from a movie when it reminds you of all of your loves – past, present, future – every meaningful thing you’ve ever done.

))<>((

))<>((

To check out all of my WRITING CHALLENGE, follow the link!

 

4 Responses to “Writing Challenge #15: My Favorite Movie”

  1. Robert Lee February 23, 2012 at 8:44 AM #

    Great movie. My wife and I have seen it multiple times too. I put it in the same boat with Little Miss Sunshine, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, and Punch Drunk Love. It is unapologetic about its story and truth. Good Article!

    If you ever get the chance to see Miranda July’s performance art in person you should. We saw a show years ago in NYC where she used two random people from the audience to star in her play as she narrated. It was pretty amazing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WRITING CHALLENGE! « MechanisticMoth - February 22, 2012

    […] Writing Challenge #15: My Favorite Movie […]

  2. 1000 Things We Hate #234: Extended Car Shots « 1000 Things We Hate - March 18, 2012

    […] example of how startling this type of shot can be for me, I watched my favorite movie Me and You and Everyone We Know for the tenth-fifteenth time a couple of nights ago.  I know this […]

  3. Final WRITING CHALLENGE – A Look Back « MechanisticMoth - March 23, 2012

    […] My favorite movie(s) […]

Leave a Reply

