Supergirl #1: Review!

26 Sep

Supergirl was one of those books I was secretly excited for in The New 52.  I’m not exactly sure why because I HAVE NEVER read a Supergirl comic before.  I suppose I was just attracted by the art, and the previews sold me.

Basically, the book starts out with Supergirl falling to Earth and being intercepted after she has landed in Siberia by some giant robot guys.  She’s confused and overwhelmed by her new powers as the yellow sun hits her and eventually Superman shows up.  End of story.  Now, this may seem trivial, but the story really wasn’t all that bad.  It flowed nicely and it definitely bolstered the art.

Mahmud Asrar’s art is fantastic and Dan Green helping him out on the inks is nice, too.  There’s no fantastic backgrounds which may have been nice, but the images are powerful and dynamic.  I actually like the new Supergirl costume (minus the weird boots) so that didn’t bother me too much.  I also enjoyed how the sound effects were integrated into the art.  Normally, I just don’t read the sound effects and find them to be a nuisance, but I actually read/”listened” these and they added a new dimension.  Why not hear the swoosh as I see it?

Most importantly, to me, was that, during a week rife with sexual imagery, Supergirl remained cheesecake-free.  She’s powerful and has agency (despite being confused) and the art and writing does not exploit her.  Instead, she’s a powerful female character, and I’m really happy to see that.

If DC could make their house style more like Asrar’s I would be quite happy.  Right now it’s too ultra-real in the main superhero books.  I like the hint of cartoon-like charm.  This book was really all ages and seems like it could be a fun book.  Hopefully it will balance the line nicely between fun and thoughtful.  She’s an alien getting used to Earth, I like that.

And, to show my surprise and happiness at this book, here’s Charmander dancing:

Leave a Reply

