Secret Pleasures #14: Star Trek

30 Dec

Space.  Aliens.  New plants.  Action.  Heart-throbbing men. Lazar guns.  This is the perfect combination for a great TV show.  Star Trek is so great that I really don’t know where to begin.  I suppose as a disclosure I must declare that I am by no means an expert on the series but love it just the same.

The original cast supports and array of interesting and ethnically diverse characters which should be applauded.  Excluding Spock’s obvious Vulcan heritage the main cast included an Asian, African American, and Russian character (Sulu, Uhura, Chekov) who all held vital roles of power.  For 1966 this was a pretty big deal.

However, despite the diverse races the show had one big flaw: under representation of woman.  They’re very seldom shown holding legitimate posts and are usually doing “woman” jobs like being secretaries.  Their short shirts and high boots are also not very respectable.

The plot of the show itself was incredibly intriguing.  While special effects and costume designs had a lot of room for improvement they set the scene for an unexplored world.  Kirk, Spock, and McCoy always had their fill of funny quips and battles of wits which I feel can appeal to all generations.

For me, Spock was the hit of the show.  He left behind a trade mark, “Live long and prosper,” and even as a child I remember showing my split fingers to people in glee.  The controversy of emotions that he represents also pulls at my heart strings (I think I’m just a sucker for mysterious men).  He also has a lot of drama concerning his split heritage, Vulcan and human, which creates an great twist in his character development.

Truthfully, I haven’t seen The Next Generation, Deep Space Nine, or Voyager Star Trek sequels but I love Enterprise!  Not only does Enterprise star Scott Bakula (our #1 favorite man here at Mechanistic Moth) but it’s the most recent series so the effects, makeup, and costumes are more advanced.

Enterprise.

Of all the men on the cast I’m not sure who I love more.  Scott Bakula is just always himself: amazing.  But, there’s also charming Commander Trip Tucker who’s southern accent warms my heart and Lieutenant Malcolm Reed who I could listen to for ages.  Among the men you cannot discount Ensign Travis Mayweather.  He may be the “token black” but his innocence and excitability always amuse me.  And, you can always count on seeing his head in the background of any shot giving a brilliantly white smile.

Because this series takes place early in Earth’s space travel history (way before Spock and Kirk) tensions are always extremely high with other life forms.  Specifically, Sub Commander T’Pol (a Vulcan female) is continuously distrusted.  However, everyone seems to love Dr. Phlox the resident physician who happens to be Denobulan.

Flaws with Enterprise are quite simple: it’s pretty corny.  However, I for one love all the sappy goodness.  I do, however, have a problem with T’Pol’s outfit.  Her camouflage leotard is so unflattering that I hate the very sight of it.  What possessed the costume designers to put her in that thing; it was idiotic.

Now onto Star Trek 2009.

I don’t have all the words to express how much I love this movie.  It took a classic show and rejuvenated it for the modern era.  It’s something that can be loved by kids and those who know the original.

The true fanatics may debate the liberty the writers took with the time line and characters, but I think it worked out fine in the end.

The movie has all the classic jokes and trademarks of the series such as “Beam me up Scotty” and “Live long and prosper” but most importantly it has Leonard Nimoy!

He may be looking pretty old but Nimoy still has that charming (even without emotions) appeal to him.  He was at Emerald City Comicon not too long after the movie came out and I still regret not being able to see him.  This guy is a legend.

The new Spock, Zachary Quinto, also did a fantastic job while being a lovely piece of alien eye candy.

In general ,Star Trek is beyond words.  It was genius and innovative for its time and continues to fascinate a modern audience.  With a sequel scheduled for 2012 it looks like it will continue to live long and prosper.

My Secret Pleasure: Space.  Aliens.  New plants. Undiscovered territories.  Action.  Heart-throbbing men. Lazar guns.

Leave a Reply

