Red Robin #17: Review

13 Nov

Man, Red Robin is so good.  I love me some Tim Drake.  First off, let me go into an explanation of my day picking up this comic.

I got my comic books on Thursday particularly because I don’t get out of class until 5:30 on Wednesdays, and then I hardly feel the impetus to go and get comics after a tiring day.  So, instead I went and got them on Thursday.  Originally, I planned to go see The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest before hand.  However, it was sold out.  I later realized that that was because it was Veteran’s day.  As proven by traffic BEING FUCKING CRAZY.  On top of that, some of my mental health issues were acting up.  So, it goes without saying that I was not in a particularly great mood.

Nevertheless, walking into Atomic Comics and talking to Shane and Ashley for awhile made me cheer up a bit.  Then I got Scott Pilgrim and a couple other movies.

So, I came home in an alright mood.  Planted my ass down, and then read me some Red Robin.

Spoilers Ahead.

Basically, this comic took place in two locations: China and Gotham.  IN CHINA WE FIND OUT WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO CASSANDRA CAIN.  As in, fuck yes, my home girl is back.

And boy, does her redesign by Marcus To look badass.  She is definitely ninja assassin-ing it out.

So, the beginning of the comic was awesome, and then it sort of went mehmehmehOHMYGOSHAWESOME.  The whole plot with Lynx is great even though it constantly mentions “I don’t want her to become my Catwoman” as he proceeds to make her his personal Catwoman.  Then, Bruce calls him out for it.  And you find out that Tim is Bruce’s Right Hand Man for Batman Inc.

It was also nice to check in on some supporting characters from the previous Robin series.

Overall, the writing wavered a bit, but it remained really strong.  And, Marcus To proved once again that he’s becoming one of the most consistent, woman-friendly, respectful, creative, and reliable artists in the business.  Plus, give a hand to the inking on the issue.

Though, I found it a little strange how short Tim is in comparison to Bruce.  When, on the cover, Lynx is really small to Tim.  So, is Lynx like 5’3″ or something?  Sometimes Tim comes off as looking really old or really young for his 18 (17?) years.

5 Responses to “Red Robin #17: Review”

  1. Allyn November 14, 2010 at 3:20 PM #

    I think Bruce is just an imposing person; even Dick is drawn small in comparison to him.

    Tim has to be eighteen. He’s been gallivanting off around the world on his own and he was left in charge of Wayne Enterprises; those also point to Tim being legally an adult. He’s at a minimum seventeen; Stephanie is a year older than he is, and she’s a college freshman now. But there’s also no indication that Tim is still a high school student; I presume that Tim and Stephanie both graduated from high school between the end of Robin and Battle for the Cowl.

    If Tim is eighteen, then Jason is twenty or twenty-one, and Dick is twenty-eight. Barbara and Helena are in their early thirties, and Bruce is somewhere between forty-five and fifty.

    Maybe it’s best not to think about the ages of the Bat-family. 🙂

    • MechanisticMoth November 14, 2010 at 8:49 PM #

      Haha! Yeah, it’s kind of frustrating thinking about their relative ages. But, now they can argue that Bruce Wayne jumping around in time actually slowed down his aging or something.
      They actually mention in Red Robin that Tim never actually graduated high school despite being the leading man behind Wayne Enterprises when he was talking to his friend (Ives?).
      Bruce is quite imposing. Scary Imposing.

  2. Stephen Quammie November 14, 2010 at 7:13 PM #

    I can’t wait to pick up this issue tomorrow from my comic shop. I’ve been a fan of Tim Drake from since his early Robin days, and I’m so glad that I’ve followed his story in the “Red Robin” comics.

    And come on, Isn’t “Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World: Level Up Collector’s Edition” wicked sweet!?

    • MechanisticMoth November 14, 2010 at 8:50 PM #

      Yeah, Tim Drake is my second favorite character in Comics (Leonardo from TMNT is my boyyy).

      Unfortunately, I don’t have blu-ray so getting the special edition is way out of my price range for Scott Pilgrim.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super HeroiHOT #25: Cassandra Cain « MechanisticMoth - November 17, 2010

    […] is no longer Batgirl.  And, as of this month, she was finally shown post-Batgirl in the pages of Red Robin #17.  And, as I said in the interview, I’m really digging this new look.  The majority of it […]

Leave a Reply

