New Pokémon Discussion!

11 Jun

Have you ever wondered what Facebook conversations Taylor and I have!?  Of course you do, here’s us discussing our thoughts on some of the new Pokémon released today.  Umm, it’s long but pretty funny.

Click for more!

Giaru.

9:18pmMe

Yes, moving on.

I find this design ridiculously simple but effective.

9:19pm Taylor

Yeah, but I don’t really understand how it’s ability comes into play. Do each of the gears have its’ own?

9:20pmMe

Yeah, that’s interesting.

9:20pm Taylor

It’d be pretty cool.

9:20pmMe

what do those abilities actually do?

9:20pmTaylor

And I can’t wait to see it’s evolution, I think it could have a really interesting attack scheme.

Plusle and Minun are the only other Pokemon who have Plus & Minus (respectively).

And it boosts the other’s attack power when they’re both on the field.

9:21pmMe

Yes, comparisons to magnemite are easy, but I hope they don’t go electric on it.

9:21pm
Taylor

Which NEVER HAPPENS.

They might, since it’s apparently already been magnetized.

9:21pmMe

Yeah. At least more pokemon will have it.

True, but electric would just be too easy.

Anyway, you’re right. I feel like the evolution will kickass.

9:22pm
Taylor

It’d be cool if they did something like Rotom with it.

And it could change it up or something.

But then again, Rotom is a ghost and possesses appliances so maybe not.

9:23pmMe

Like multiple gears that can work in different directions?

9:23pm
Taylor

Yeah, or something.

9:23pmMe

That would be interesting.

Alright, Mamepato.

(it’s hard referring to them with these names considering most of them will change except for the legendaries)

9:25pm
Taylor

Yeah.

But yeah, I think it’s really unimaginative.

9:26pmMe

Agreed.

It really has me upset.

9:26pm
Taylor

But so was Swellow at first and I ended up really liking it.

9:26pmMe

Swellow at least had color.

And Swallows are really neat birds that it’s based off of.

Every other opening flying type has been muted and plain.

9:27pm
Taylor

But imagine the “coo” when you send it out!

9:27pmMe

That’s true.

I would like a pure white pigeon, though.d

9:28pm
Taylor

When they overdo it like Staravia it’s kind of painful.

Like Reshiram.

?

9:28pmMe

…yeah, you got me there. maybe a blue bird or something.

Or a cardinal.

9:28pm
Taylor

Or a Jay!

9:28pmMe

But not another goddamn brown or gray pokemon.

9:29pm
Taylor

I’d like another Steel/Flying.

9:29pmMe

Is Skarmary or whatever it’s called that type?

9:29pm
Taylor

Skarmory.

Yes.

9:29pmMe

/it doesn’t have an evolution, right?

9:30pm
Taylor

Nope.

9:30pmMe

That would be neat if they did a pre-volution. I can’t really imagine an evolution for it.

9:31pm
Taylor

Too bad I would never use or respect it’s prevolution.

It could just evolve into an airplane or something.

9:31pmMe

That would be effective.

It would be cool if Rotom gets some more types.

9:31pm
Taylor

Yeah.

Stronger ones!

Or it could turn into a toaster that evolves into an oven or something.

9:32pmMe

That would be ridiculous.

9:32pm
Taylor

So it could kind of be like Eevee and you could choose what path it would take.

Based on what you turned it into.

9:32pmMe

That sounds so ridiculous but cool.

It would then have eight or more types/evolutions.

Each of which would be pretty hard to get, I would imagine.

9:33pm
Taylor

Each of the appliances could be scattered across the four corners of the land.

So you’d have to journey to find them.

9:33pmMe

Staraptor just looks like an emo boy band member…

That would be neat.

Alright, moving on.

9:34pm
Taylor

Yes.

9:34pmMe

Into some decent ones.

Hihidaruma.

9:34pm
Taylor

I think it’s really cool, but I don’t see why it couldn’t be Fighting/Fire.

9:34pmMe

I like the eyebrows and the wild appearance, but is this just the Magmar-esque version of a Chimchar?

9:34pm
Taylor

I was thinking Blaziken.

If you took the mouth off it kind of has a beak.

9:35pmMe

True.

I totally see that.

It looks like a mishmash of other pokemon while still having a pretty distinct look of its own.

9:36pm
Taylor

Yeah, but I wish they had more fire Pokemon that specialize in Sp. Atk.

9:36pmMe

It seems pretty fitting. Does Blaziken have high Sp. Atk.?

9:36pm
Taylor

Since most of the best Fire-type moves are Special.

Not really.

Well, the division of Special and Physical didn’t come about until 4th gen, I think.

In terms of attack.

9:37pmMe

Oh well.

Oh really? I thought it was third.

It makes a lot of sense.

9:37pm
Taylor

So you could just attack with Fire Blast and it wouldn’t stick to special or physical.

9:37pmMe

At first, I had no idea what any of it fucking meant, but now it’s pretty easy to figure out and plan accordingly.

9:38pm
Taylor

Because people were kind of pissed how it totally fucked up Blaziken and Sceptile when they introduced it since they’re both mostly physical but their types gives a mostly special attack boost? Does that make sense?

9:38pmMe

Yeah, that does.

9:38pm
Taylor

I think they introduced it in Emerald, maybe.

9:38pmMe

I would imagine some backlash.

9:39pm
Taylor

Yeah so people had to stick with Blaze Kick and Leaf Blade as it’s primary attacks.

9:39pmMe

Anyway, the pose also reminds me of that one Pseudo Legendary you really like.

9:39pm
Taylor

instead of Fire Blast or something.

Which’n?

9:40pmMe

Uh, the steel one that in smash bros traps you in the ground. Name’s not coming into my brain.

9:40pm
Taylor

Ohhh Metagross.

9:41pmMe

YEAH!

The poses just look the same.

Not really any big revelation.

9:42pm
Taylor

Yeah, I think it could go places though. It doesn’t really look like it would have an evolution but I hope it does.

9:42pmMe

It could just be another Magmar that they add onto later.

Maybe it would become more standing Gorilla-esque in the evolution?

9:51pmMe

Okay, Shimama.

9:51pm
Taylor

Oh yeah, the time stamp is kind of annoying

Looooves it.

9:51pmMe

I would just like to start out and say that the Japanese
name is hilarious.

9:51pm
Taylor

Loves that too.

9:52pmMe

Could be a rapper’s name.

9:52pm
Taylor

Or Black Eyed Peas lyrics.

9:52pmMe

What was the legend you were saying it’s
based after?

(I do a mean cover of
Fergie’s “London Bridge” on my uke)

9:52pm
Taylor

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ixion

Or not.

Hold
up.

9:54pmMe

9:55pm
Taylor

I’M SO SORRY.

9:56pmMe

Tsk tsk.

9:56pmTaylor

http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20090315233108/finalfantasy/images/thumb/3/3d/FF10_Ixion_Artwork.jpg/800px-FF10_Ixion_Artwork.jpg

And it shoots lightning from its horn.

9:57pmMe

That was
really hard to figure out which part was which at first, but I ended up
figuring it out.

9:57pm
Taylor

Ruby just gave me the dirtiest look.

Bitch.

9:57pmMe

How dare she.

Anyway, what
do we like about this Zebra-thing?

9:58pm
Taylor

It’s concept.

It kind of looks a lot like Shinx.

Facially, at least.

With
the eyes and ears.

9:58pmMe

I really
don’t like the blue in it.

If that was to be my only complaint, that
would be it.

9:59pm
Taylor

I wish it was a less vibrant purple.

Would be cool.

9:59pmMe

Purple would
look good.

Purple is definitely an underused color in
the pokemon world.

10:00pm
Taylor

Yeah.

And
I really hope it’s a main contender in the anime.

Like, Brock (<3) has one or something.

10:00pmMe

…Unfortunately,
babe, I don’t think Brock would have one.

10:01pm
Taylor

http://www.facebook.com/product_application/

Maybe the other traveling companion would.

Brock has a Coagunk.

and a Happiny.

Yeah, I
just found that application on my homepage and it has piqued my
interest.

10:02pmMe

What Pokemon
is the most provocative?

Answer: Jynx.

10:02pm
Taylor

I would totally work for Facebook though.

Hahahah

10:02pmMe

I like how
they have the new move Wild Bolt for it.

10:03pm
Taylor

Yeah, it’d be cooler if it had Volt Absorb
as it’s passive ability.

10:04pmMe

That would be
nice, but you can’t always get what you want.

It’s nice that
they’re going for some more Savannah-esque animals.

10:05pm
Taylor

I guess Motor Drive isn’t a bad deal.

10:05pmMe

(I’ve added
esque onto a lot of things)

10:05pm
Taylor

I had to look it up because I forgot but it
neutralizes electric damage and raises speed when hit with an
electric-type attack.

Yeah, the jungle
in Hoenn was kind of crappy.

Since
all you caught was a Kecleon.

10:06pmMe

That would be
good if it was a dual-type.

Kecleon is cool… to a point.

10:06pm
Taylor

It’s easy to strategize against.

Because you use like, my Empoleon for
example. Ice-beam, change Kecleon to Ice-type. then Flash Cannon, it’s
super-effective and Kecleon is dead.

Because
Pokemon die.

10:07pmMe

So, should we move on?

With life.

And not dead
Pokemon.

10:07pm
Taylor

Oui.

10:07pmMe

(although it would make battling so much more intense)

10:07pm
Taylor

If they died?

10:07pmMe

(GO PIKACHU! BATTLE FOR YOUR FUCKING LIFE, DICKFACE!)

10:08pm
Taylor

Maybe they could make a place where you
could gamble Pokemon.

10:08pmMe

I think the
next Pikachu I get, I’m nicknaming it dickface.

10:08pm
Taylor

Except that would have really bad
consequences for the impressionable youth.

“Dickface used discharge”

10:08pmMe

Or gamble the souls away at a haunted tower in order to get
a Darkrai

10:09pm
Taylor

Meguroko!

10:09pmMe

“Squirtle, I know we’ve had some good times, but Tail Whip
just isn’t cutting it anymore… and what I really need is YOUR SOUL!”

Sorry, distractions.

I like this
one.

10:10pm
Taylor

It could be a good spin-off.

10:10pmMe

I feel like it
doesn’t have much where it’s at now, but it could be a great 20-35 lv.
pokemon.

10:10pm
Taylor

What do u mean?

10:11pmMe

When the avg.
level of your pokemon is in that range, I believe that’s when having the
little gator would prove to be useful.

I like the
type combination, mostly.

10:11pm
Taylor

Yeah.

I
like Dark/anything.

10:12pmMe

Tru’ dat.

10:12pm
Taylor

Because Dark Pokemon are so underrated.

Even though it really only adds weaknesses.

10:12pmMe

True.

10:12pm
Taylor

I guess being immune to Psychic is good.

But in Sinnoh there aren’t any really good
Psychic type Pokemon.

10:13pmMe

But, they’re cool. And Psychic has to be
balanced out.

What do you not like about Meguroko?

10:13pm
Taylor

Umm….

I
like…

That it’s a desert crocodile.

And not an aligator.

alligator*

Are who they remind me of at least.

10:15pmMe

Yeah, I thought those, as well.

10:15pm
Taylor

Because the first stage was kind of a bust
but they get really cool when they evolve.

10:16pmMe

I guess, it’s more so for the evolution potential that I
like it.

As is, it’s a little clunky.

10:16pm
Taylor

I like that it’s probably going to be a
powerhouse.

Or it would seem to be.

Depending on the evolution.

10:17pmMe

We need some
more strong pokemon! I say jokingly.

10:17pm
Taylor

At least until we get the National Pokedex.

I feel like I could just not tell you that
I’m not wearing pants, but then again telling you just adds a whole new
level to this conversation.

You ever
notice how many Poison-type Pokemon are in Kanto.

10:18pmMe

I don’t know
how to respond to either of those things.

10:19pm
Taylor

Bulbasaur, Ivysaur, Venusaur, Venonat,
Venomoth, Grimer, Muk, Zubat, Golbat, Nidoran male/female, Nidorino,
Nidorina, Nidoking, Nidoqueen, Weepinbell, Victreebell, Oddish, Gloom,
Vileplume.

I’m probably missing some.

10:19pmMe

Probably.

Kanto’s just a
dangerous place to live if you’re not a pokemon trainer.

10:19pm
Taylor

Tentacool, tentacruel.

It’s weird how USELESS poison-type Pokemon are too.

Ekans, Arbok, Koffing, Wheezing

Paras, Parasect

10:21pmMe

Yeah, they’re
just there to annoy us.

10:21pm
Taylor

Ghastly, Haunter, Gengar

10:21pmMe

Anyway, want
to wrap up with thoughts of the new Legendaries?

I know we’ve
already talked about them a ton, but still.

Reshiram

Zekrom

10:22pm
Taylor

Uh, I don’t HATE the yin-yang thing.

10:23pmMe

It was bound
to happen.

10:23pm
Taylor

I guess we don’t really know about their
passive abilities yet.

But my first
instict is telling me to get Black.

instinct*

And to not go back.

10:24pmMe

To then get
Reshiram?

10:24pm
Taylor

We should talk about the professor too.

10:24pmMe

Oh yes.

10:24pm
Taylor

Yeah.

10:24pmMe

Let’s cover
the legendaries first.

Damn, I was leaning towards Black for
Reshiram.

10:25pm
Taylor

Like, how you can get the cover Pokemon
before you’ve even beaten all the gyms.

10:25pmMe

But, Zekrom
has grown on me despite looking like a Gundam fighter thing.

10:25pm
Taylor

I don’t mind getting White.

10:25pmMe

We’ll decide
that later.

10:25pm
Taylor

I don’t even know what Pokemon are on them
and w/eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee yeah, we’ll figger it out when the time
comes.

In a year.

10:26pmMe

Reshiram
reminds me of those cultures that wear rings around their necks.

10:26pm
Taylor

Yeah.

I
wonder how the yin-yang is going to work into the mythology of the land.

10:27pmMe

I bet it will
have a lot to do with whatever Team ___ we’ll be fighting.

10:27pm
Taylor

I really wish they’d do another heaven and
earth thing and then you could actually travel to the sky and
underground.

10:27pmMe

Disruption in
the balance sort of thing.

10:28pm
Taylor

Go figure.

10:28pmMe

Well, they had
the Underground, but it was a little lame.

10:28pm
Taylor

Oh, yeah.

I
mean an underground with mole people.

10:28pmMe

…or a 1000
Diglett caves.

Zekrom looks pretty neat with the Gundam
thing going on, I really like the covers over the hands.

I have to
admit, I was kinda disgusted by them at first, but now I’m digging them.

10:29pm
Taylor

The wings are my favorite part of him.

I guess in contrast to Reshiram being all
feathery.

Zekrom just has like, I
don’t know. Really angular bat wings.

10:30pmMe

True, they’re
simple but the way they join his body almost looks like they’re separate
arms that have turned into wings.

*its, sorry
forgot legendaries aren’t gendered.

10:31pm
Taylor

I guess the only thing I don’t like about
it is the breastplate, shin guards, shoulder pads, etc.

10:31pmMe

True, a little
overdone.

10:32pm
Taylor

Reshiram is just a lot more…I guess it
just makes me think of unity instead of a bunch of bits and pieces all
coming together.

Like a suit of armor.

And that’s kind of what has bothered me
about the past legendary Pokemon since Ruby/Sapphire.

They’re really uhh…non-organic.

10:33pmMe

True, I would
agree. There’s some magic and elegance that’s lost in translation to
make them all powerful.

Alright, New Women Professor!

10:34pm
Taylor

Yeah, I feel like she’s a little too saucy
is all.

I kind of wish they had made
her dowdier.

10:35pmMe

Yeah, but she sort of reminds me of a hip
doctor in their late 30s or so.

10:35pm
Taylor

Especially in conjunction with the female
protagonist.

10:35pmMe

hip as in cool, not as in specific field of
doctoring.

10:35pm
Taylor

Maybe some glasses would help.

10:35pmMe

That would help. Glasses, on a chain.

10:36pm
Taylor

And, I don’t know. I know the professors
are supposed to do mostly field work but maybe like, a little more
book-ish.

I don’t think that’s
hyphenated.

10:37pmMe

oh well.

10:37pm
Taylor

At least she’s not wearing high heels.

10:37pmMe

Well, the whole design is a minor tweak that I
appreciate.

10:38pm
Taylor

wat do u mean?

The fact that she’s female?

Or uhh…appears to be more outgoing.

10:38pmMe

That the Prof is now a woman and she seems strong and in a
high position.

10:38pm
Taylor

Yeah, but I don’t think she had to be sexed
up so much is all.

10:39pmMe

It’s just
nice since most of the mentors in the games have been male. Sure,
they’ve had Pokemon Masters like Cynthia, but those are a little
degrading and, for the most part, you’re there to kick their ass.

See, I disagree, I don’t find her that sexed
up at all… but, then again, I’m used to comic books being so much
worse.

10:39pm
Taylor

Yeah.

I
think it’s just the really tight lab coat that outlines the bosom.

And the top is kind of low and the skirt is
kind of mini.

Not dreadfully so, but
just enough to irk me.

Since Japan
kind of has a way of portraying women like that.

10:40pmMe

I find the top reasonable, but agree on the skirt being
just a tad too short.

10:40pm
Taylor

Especially in anime.

10:41pmMe

Overall, I
think it’s a step in the right direction, and we’ll see how her
involvement in the game plays out later.

10:41pm
Taylor

Yeah.

And
her name had better not be Araragi.

10:42pmMe

It sounds a
little like throwing up.

Or heartburn.

10:42pm
Taylor

Or a seizure of the mouth.

10:43pmMe

That’s so
lovely.

10:43pm
Taylor

YOU’RE SO LOVELY.


Taylor Moore


June 11 at 9:47pm

Me
I just beat the Elite 4 on my first try with level 45-52
Pokemon. T_T
Even that lv. 68 Garchomp.
20:48Elliott
Holy shit.
That’s
damn impressive.
I’m looking at all of the new images.
20:49Me
What
do you think of the map?
20:49Elliott
None of them make me go
“wow.” However, I do enjoy Chiramii despite it being normal.
20:49Me
I
kind of wish 1/8 of it wasn’t that damn desert.
20:49Elliott
I’m
really digging the map. I like the desert.
20:49Me
I really like
the Zebra and the fire one it was shown with.
They had a desert in
Hoenn and it was just kind of bust.
20:50Elliott
Really, I liked
it.
The Zebra’s iffy for me. The Fire chimp thing’s pretty neat,
though.
20:50Me
I like the Zebra, but ma¥be that’s because it’s
based on the Ixion.
Which I think is cool.
Also from Final
Fantasy.
20:51Elliott
Yeah, that’s pretty neat.
Zekrom’s tail
has grown on me.
It makes it look like a wasp, but still not so
insecty.
20:52Me
Yeah, I actually kind of like all these new
Pokemon.
starters included.
Except that damn Pokabu
20:53Elliott
The
starter pig?
Yeah, I despise it so much.
Hihidaruma looks like it
could be a powerful 2-step fire pokemon in the vain of magmar and
electabuzz.
As in, before they had third evolutions.
20:54Me
Yeah.
I
really hope him and uh…Shimama? evolve.
And gain a dual-type.
20:55Elliott
Definitely
Shimimama could be a powerful electric Rapidash when evolved.
I’m
not sure what their dual-type would become, though.
20:55Me
Electric…Ground
would be a cool combination.
20:56Elliott
Holy shit, that would
be crazy good.
What do you think about the types for the legendaries?
20:57Me
Weird,
but I really like the combinations.
At least they’re not Psychic or
something.
20:58Elliott
True that, by looks, that would be the
direction I would think.
20:58Me
And now they have Dragon: Water,
Steel, Ghost, Fire, Electric, and Psychic legendaries.
20:58Elliott
I
seriously thought they were going to be Dragon Psychic for Reshiram and
Dragon Dark for Zekrom.
Reshiram being fire still weirds me out. I
feel like either of them could have been dragon electric, though.
20:59Me
Dragon/Dark
is pretty obvious.
Well, Reshiram is kind of like a cloud so they
could have gone with that dynamic.
And Zekrom kind of looks like
a…plume of smoke? Except mechanical.
21:00Elliott
Well, I think
you’ve got your types backward. Zekrom is the electric one.
So, the
mechanical still works.
21:01Me
Yes. I mean that Reshiram could
have been electric and Zekrom could have been fire and it would make
roughly the same amount of sense.
21:01Elliott
True.
Alright,
let’s go through each and throw out our thoughts:
21:02Me
K!
21:02Elliott
Chiramii,
chinchilla
21:02Me
I think it’s cute, but I wouldn’t ever use one
because it’s not spectacular in any way.
But I recognize they have
certain quotas to fill.
21:02Elliott
Agreed. It’s one of those
adorable ones.
…that you never use.
21:03Me
Like the really
common crappy normal-type you get really early on just to fill your
roster. See also: Sentret, Zigzagoon.
21:03Elliott
Yeah, but this
one totally ups those in the cuteness department.
21:03Me
Finally.
21:04Elliott
If
they still have the ability for pokemon to walk behind you, then I
wouldn’t mind sporting this one.
21:04Me
Me neither.
21:04Elliott
If
the beauty contests were to come back (I pray that they don’t), it
would have a good shot.
21:04Me
But we’ll see the evolution.
21:05Elliott
I
bet they’ll give it a single sharp tooth on each side and a bit of an
angry grin.
21:05Me
I doubt they will, people hated them so they
made Pokeathalon instead so they’ll probably keep that or create a new
kind of mini-game thing.
21:05Elliott
Yeah, that would be nice.
21:05Me
Or
just have both/three if they make a new mini-game thing if they have
enough space on the card.
21:06Elliott
I think they could
definitely exploit the card a bit more before the new 3D DS or whatever
comes out.
21:06Me
Oh yeah, that’s probably going to be shown
uhh…
next week?
Lemme check my calendar.
2 weeks.
At E3.
21:07Elliott
That
does not surprise me at all.
21:07Me
Along with probably more
stuff on this new Pokemon, new Zelda, etc. etc. etc.
21:07Elliott
E3
seems like it will be good this year.
21:07Me
I’m really excited.
There’s
also the new Golden Sun, Metroid, and Epic Mickey.
21:07Elliott
What’s
Epic Mickey? Disney related…
21:08Me
You should google it.
It
looks really neat.
21:09Elliott
Looks strange.
Anyway, moving
on.
21:09Me
Yeah.
21:09Elliott
Munna: Dream eater.
AKA,
the pretty Drowsee
21:09Me
Mmmmmmmmmm, yeah not a fan.
It’s
actually weirdly not very pretty.
21:09Elliott
Like I said in
text, it looks like an egg that someone put wrapping paper on.
21:10Me
Yeah,
and I don’t really get the concept of it.
21:10Elliott
What
happens when a clown and baby elephant mate?
Is it just pink because
psychic’s color is pink… because, that’s kinda dumb.
21:10Me
Maybe.
21:10Elliott
And,
we already have enough ball-shaped pokemon.
21:11Me
And enough
balls.
But I do like that it floats.
I GUESS.
Unless it
doesn’t.
And that’s just its animation.
Which I think is the case.
21:11Elliott
It
forces the other person to float.
Which doesn’t make much sense.
Lowers
accuracy, maybe?
21:12Me
Or maybe makes them weak to Electric
(probably not)?
I don’t know, what’s the downside to Levitate?
21:13Elliott
No
idea, I’m more so concerned if this affects other pokemon.
Not
really anything.
21:13Me
Yeah.
I guess you could use it on your
teammate in a double battle.

2 Responses to “New Pokémon Discussion!”

  1. Calcifer June 12, 2010 at 12:13 AM #

    This is really:
    -nerdy
    -awkward
    -missing Chiramii and Munna
    -I like how I can click on my name and it takes me to my facebook page

    • MechanisticMoth June 12, 2010 at 2:38 PM #

      Ooh, I should probably change that.

      People just need to know how strangely obsessed we are.

Leave a Reply

