Secret Pleasures #19: Fanfiction

4 Jun

Yes, I am a geek.  A nerd.  A dork.  Whatever you want to call it.  And I like fanfiction.  Deal with it.

I started reading Sailor Moon fanfiction on a now discontinued site called moonromance.net when I was a freshman in high school.  Some authors sucked, other were great and I quickly found myself addicted.

I’m addicted, but it’s a secret. Hell no would I wear this shirt.

It took me over a year before I started exploring other types of fanfiction.  I quickly found that some authors completely dirtied an already perfect storyline while others embellished it.  Now, I have set of rules in order to sort these apart.

A lot of people completely ruin a story.  Ewww, the grammar and misspelling burns my eyes (see below).

First, if it’s a book/movie/anime that I’m completely happy with I will not read any fanfiction on it.  In my opinion fanfiction will simply ruin it.

Second, if you say in the summary you suck at summaries you probably suck at writing, too.

Third, I’m not going to reading any OC (out of character) stories.  When you start changing the characters’ personalities you’re changing the story.  I didn’t come here to read your pathetic parody.  Similarly, if I can tell you’re going to ignore the facts of the original story I’m not going to read it.  Facts are facts, don’t screw with them.

Fourth and most importantly, I’m not going to read your story if you can’t use proper english.  For example:

(I don’t need to live) a yonuy boy thout to him self he held out a knife nere his rist suinley he herd a beutaful voice say ?

Yes, this is the first sentence to an actual story that I found randomly on fanfiction.net.  Not only is it depressing, but everything about it is wrong.  Parenthesis instead of quotes.  Horrible spelling.  Misused question mark.  I get chills just looking at it.

“Where is Aizen getting these asshols?” Ichigo thought.

This is better and forgivable because everyone makes mistakes.

So, why is fanfiction so appealing?  The answer is simple: authors leave things unfinished or finish things improperly.  Reading someone’s twist or expansion on a story is fun.  Countless times I’ve finished a series (either of books or TV) and wished for more.  Luckily, there is more.

Fanfiction even has it’s own type of culture.  There’s the classic acronyms OC (out of character), R&R (rate and review),  and AU (alternate universe).  There’s the words “lemon” and “lime” which relate to sex, and “yuri”and “yoai” which is lesbian and gay stories respectively.  There’s also “x-over” for cross over stories (combing characters from two completely different stories; I’m not a fan).  But, my favorite part of fanfiction culture is the shortening and combining of names/pairings.  For example, Takari is a romantic pairing between Takeru and Hikari from digimon and Harmony is for Harry Potter and Hermione.

Can you imagine the disgusted look on my face?

While searching for fanfiction pictures I discovered Twifiction.  Twilight fiction.  I think I just puked a little.

Nevertheless, fanfiction is something that’s fun to read.  At college, I discovered that I wasn’t the only one with this secret pleasure.  Many of my friends actually admitted that they dabble in reading and writing fanfiction (I later found out that dabble meant religiously follow).  It’s embarrassing but who cares.

Above I mentioned another part of fanfiction–writing it.  Do I write fanfiction? Let’s not talk about that.  I will say that everyone has expectations for a story and when they’re not met it’s fun to write about what could have happened or in your opinion what should have happened.

So, whether it’s reading or writing, fanfiction is a great source of entertainment.

My Secret Pleasure: reading and writing twists on a good story–sometimes to make it better.

2 Responses to “Secret Pleasures #19: Fanfiction”

  1. luxci December 22, 2011 at 7:56 PM #

    I thought OC was Own charictor. F[ idk thou. I think you’re thinking of OOC out of Charictor. But!!! I agree I hate it when they do OOC!!!

  2. xanpluto December 23, 2011 at 9:06 PM #

    Hmm…I guess you’re right. OC does mean ‘own character’ or ‘original character’. However, I’m certain I’ve seen people use OC for out of character, too.

    I guess everyone’s a bit hazy on the acronyms (including me).

Leave a Reply

