Another Mystery OVGGVI

12 Apr

E's with no bars!

So, I received another mystery letter today.  Well, I probably received it sometime last week, but since I was out on my hiatus from life and didn’t leave my house for four days, I didn’t check my mail box.  This one amped up the game a bit in some similarities and differences from the last two.

First off (not so obvious from the picture), the postcard is different from the other two.  It’s more of a manila color and made of more natural materials, it seems.  The stamp is not some nutcracker stamp, but one of those liberty bell ones.

This is the second letter sent from San Jose, and the writer is the same person.  However, they tried to throw me off by writing in all caps and not barring their “E”s.  Nevertheless, comparing the two fonts/handwritings, they’re definitely the same.

However, this means that the one from Oakland has thrown me for a loops.  Therefore, I still cannot definitively say whether or not this is one or two people.

Norman, help a pal out.

Okay, the inside was a bit easier to figure out.  Despite Rockwell’s name getting cut off near the bottom, it is a definitive Rockwell reprint.  I enjoy how there are also cats.  I like cats a lot.  In fact, Sabretooth is sitting in my lap grumpily licking herself while I try to shower her with kisses… now she’s scratching and biting my arm… what a sweetheart!

The text was a bit harder to figure out where it had come from mostly because I didn’t have a computer for awhile, but Michaela led me on the right track by saying it was Snoopy related.  I was like, “egh? Really?  I’ve never really read Peanuts.”  She insisted… so, I checked.  However, the person in question cut off the quote from the ending.

I received:

It was a dark and stormy night. Suddenly, a shot rang out! A door slammed. The maid screamed. Suddenly, a pirate ship appeared on the horizon! While millions of people were starving, the king lived in luxury. Meanwhile, on a small farm in Kansas, a boy was growing up. A light snow was falling, and the little girl with the tattered shawl had not sold a violet all day. At that very moment, a young intern at City Hospital was making an important discovery. The mysterious patient in Room 213 had finally awakened. She moaned softly. Could it be that she was the sister of the boy in Kansas who loved the girl with the tattered shawl who was the daughter of the maid who had escaped from the pirates? The intern frowned.

I did not receive:

“Stampede!” the foreman shouted, and forty thousand head of cattle thundered down on the tiny camp. The two men rolled on the ground grappling beneath the murderous hooves. A left and a right. A left. Another left and right. An uppercut to the jaw. The fight was over. And so the ranch was saved. The young intern sat by himself in one corner of the coffee shop.  He had learned about medicine, but more importantly, he had learned something about life.

Sure, this may have been a bit too much to include, but the latter half at least ends on more of a positive note.  This is my first time reading this, so I may be just raw, but does anyone else get the feeling that the boy in the Kansas is Clark Kent?  It’s a stretch, but still.

Also, this card stock with the painting was from an April 2006 calendar from Stephanie Golden’s real estate from Coldwell Banker.

Any clues, Steph?

However, the most interesting part of the entire letter was the code written on the inside of the envelope.

Oh shit.

It’s really difficult to type when Sabretooth is trying to bite my arm.  Anyway, I figured the code out fairly quickly in my English class today partly because of my tonsillitis induced hallucinations or something… I’m deathly ill at the moment which sucks since I’ve never really been seriously sick before.

Anyway, I was a bit confused by the code until I picked up on the double O’s with H’s on both sides of the last section.  Then I knew that the code was a backwards alphabetical code with each letter shown representing the opposite letter in the alphabet.  Therefore, the message translated to:

“NICE BATMAN DETECTIVE SKILLS”

Therefore, the sender must be a reader of the blog.  Also, it suggests that my conjecture over the person being blond to be true along with some other hypotheses.

This was definitely a nice twist to this little game we’re playing, and I’m rather enjoying it.

Naturally, this is the point where I say I want to know more about Who, Why, and What.  But, I think this person is holding out on me for a purpose.  Nevertheless, another coded message would be fun.  You could create your own code and provide a key.  I used to make codes all the time… I was in Boy Scouts.

Anyway, this is great and you’ve brought some enjoyment and variety into my life.  Like I said (lightly and with a slight rasp) over dinner tonight, “I’m keeping all of these letters so when I die they can collect them as artifacts in a museum all about my life.”

A little conceded, yes.  Really interested in you (one or two or more plus four), yes.

I think I’m going to go listen to Andrew Bird’s “Not a Robot, But a Ghost.”

Now, it’s time for me to send you a secret message, dear letter sender.  First, I’ll give you a hint in your own code to help you decode, and you may find other hints amongst the tags.

XZVHVI XRKSVI XLWV FMWVI X DRGS C ZWWVW GL UFXP DRGS BLF

And here’s my message:

KX JQRG AXQW CTG GPLQAKXPI AQXXWTUGXNH

XUXXKPING RGXTUQP QT OQTXG

JCXG YG OXGV

VXJCPMXUX HXXQT VJG HWPX

Check out the other two letters over hyeyeryryereeeeee!

2 Responses to “Another Mystery OVGGVI”

  1. anonymous April 27, 2010 at 8:52 PM #

    Have we met? Maybe. Its a complicated answer.

    Have you received our latest letters?

    • MechanisticMoth April 27, 2010 at 9:35 PM #

      Oh my gosh… I love direct interaction (despite it being through the pixelated bit world of the intranet)!

      Yeah, I have. Sorry I haven’t posted pictures of them. I have two(ish) weeks left of school and roughly 30 pages of writing due just on next Tuesday. So, I’m incredibly busy.
      I’ve been meaning to, but it’s about #12 on my 20+ item to do list. Sorry.
      Oh, and there’s about 30 pictures of my cat being adorable on my camera right now and I would naturally have to edit all of them to feel satisfied about life.

      I hope complicated answers come to fruition.

Leave a Reply

