Wow… Been awhile. NEW COMICS!

6 Feb

Alright, I’ll admit it: I’ve been slacking on the comic book side of things.  However, new things have been happening in my life that have made me feel pretty damn good.  I’m more than likely moving, I have a girl that I like and even though she just wants to be friends and not have a relationship I still enjoy every goddamn moment I’m with her, I’m actually trying to make new/more friends and succeeding, and Quantum Leap is a show that will never lose its beauty to me.

So, where does that leave me?  Oh yeah, I’m in a damn fine mood to go to the comic store and post about what I’ve read.

Batwoman in Detective Comics #861:

Wait, this comic doesn’t have the beautiful work of J.H. Williams III in it?  Fuck, I’m not picking that up.

Well, you should because this was by far the best read I’ve had in awhile.  Jock’s artwork flows flawlessly with Rucka’s script which is not only occasionally surprising, but instantly badass.  Everyone should read this book… and I’m not kidding.  Everyone.  Whether you like comics or not.  Here, we have a kickass superhero who’s a lesbian and uses her defining qualities to her advantage.

The thing I loved about this issue was that Batwoman gets stabbed a lot but keeps on fighting like a pro.  The duality of the story in the past with Batman and the story with Batwoman in the present really brings it home that Kate may not have the same amount of training as Bruce did, but she can still hold her own against anyone else in the Bat-family.

God, I loved this.

Invincible Iron Man #22:

Tony Stark is still kinda in la-la land stuck in his head, and ruling him out as the main force in the comic is a pretty interesting thing to do, but Fraction nails it home with this issue.  I’m really enjoying this series.  Sure, Marvel’s been having the whole problem lately of “hey, we don’t like to schedule our books out in proper sequential order so you get spoilers in issues all the time,” but I’m okay with that.

Bringing in Strange is a clever, mildly desperate move, but I like when he realizes that this task may just end up being a lot harder than he expected it to be.  Has anyone else noticed that him and Tony look nearly identical with a few modifications? It’s kinda distracting.

Red Robin #9:

Fun.

That’s the best way to describe this issue.

Wait, what?  Describing the new badass “I’m dark and angry like my Daddy” attitude Red Robin-Tim Drake-Wayne-(Draper) as fun is a little weird.  However, it works.

I loved the contrast in this issue of how Tim comes back to Gotham, talks about how shitty it is yet feels the need to apologize and actually crack a smile for good ol’ times.  Ra’s is super menacing in this issue and his plan seems pretty dastardly.  I feel like this actually has some substance.

The nice thing about this series – so far – is that it works the way a comic should work.  It has nicely developed storylines in 3-5 issue arcs that play a role in the bigger picture.  Not only that, it also makes reference to what’s going on in the whole universe.  Sure, I would have liked it if Tim did some more world-touring, but I love how this comic and Batman and Robin #7 came out at relatively the same time with similar themes with different approaches.

It probably helps that I’m a huge Tim Drake fan.

Batman and Robin #7:

Let’s admit it, this issue had problems.  From the ridiculous way Batwoman gets brought into the story to the accidental dialogue switch in a certain frame that’s a bit confusing.

Let’s also admit that Cameron Stewart just brought new life to this series.  I was a converted fan for the first Quitely issues, then I got the Phillip Tan ones and thought, “fuck, I hate this art.”  I hated it so much, in fact, that I was going to stop getting this series.  Then, I read some reviews of the issue and decided, “okay, you’ve got another shot, don’t disappoint.”

The things this issue does well completely overshadows the above problems.  The issue is at such a breakneck speed that sometimes it’s hard to keep up, but then you read something later on and pick up what actually happened earlier.  So, Morrison kinda safeguards himself on that.

The interrogation scene is killer like 3 pages of absolute glory.

So Cameron, you got me.  I’m picking up the next issue.

The Walking Dead#69:

Ever wanted to see what post-Zombie Washington DC would look like?  Well, here you go.

The mistrust simmers down in this issue and a mini crisis happens in which we discover this community our characters are going to is pretty damn well-off in terms of resources and firepower.

Things may just be looking up for the group, but I’m expecting something to happen in issue #73 that shakes things up… just a guess.

My one problem is that this comic always feels short.  I know that Charlie Adlard typically does about a page of art a day, and it would be pretty mean to force him to do more.  I guess it is a sign of a good comic when you’re craving the next one as soon as you read that one (hence why this series works better in trades, but I’m so goddamn impatient I can’t wait).

Green Lantern #50:

I guess it’s fairly significant that Hal Jordan turns back into Parallax in issue 50 when in Vol 3 of Green Lantern he’s infected with Parallax and destroys the Corps.

So, takin’ down the Spectre, huh?  That’s neat.

This issue just sort of felt “meh” for me.  I mean, it’s cool seeing all of the new Corp members dealing with their bosses (I love Atrocitus urging Mera on), but the issue just moved really quickly at first to me.  Then, once it hit halfway it moved a little slow.  I think it’s just suffering from having too many characters at this point.  I want more screen time for all of them, but there’s just not enough room.

In terms of Blackest Night, this plays a decent role.  Plus, I wonder how Parallax is going to be put back into his cage.

Oh, and the part between Hal and Carol is cute.

The art on this issue is pretty good.  Not amazing, but better than a lot of art.

I guess I may just be caught in the rut that I’m putting this series to a (deservedly) higher standard.  Hmmm.

Tales of the TMNT #66:

A bit frustrating to find 100 versions of a Batman and Robin cover and only 10 of a TMNT cover – all of which are quite small.

So, I went into this thinking that this issue probably wasn’t going to work for me.  I’ve always have loved Tales for covering aspects of heroes’ lives typically not seen in comics, but an issue about dog smuggling by a gang in NY that’s pretty lame in the TMNT series just was not doing it for me in description since it’s so arbitrary.

Nevertheless, upon reading it, I found the issue to be fun and meaningful.  Sure, I don’t really have much of a recollection of how it went and I read it two weeks ago, but I remember smiling and rooting for my characters.  So, I suppose if a comic can have even that short term effect, then it must be pretty damn decent.

For something that didn’t require too much, Lawson still kicked out some great art.

World’s Finest miniseries #1-4:

Okay, I meant for all of those images to just line up horizontally, but it wasn’t happenin’.  So, I picked up the first issue of this miniseries on a whim partly because of good ol’ Timmy being in it.  Sure, he was drawn like he was 40 and not 19 which was a bit upsetting, but oh well.

The miniseries was entertaining.  It wasn’t great nor was it bad.  Just a nice pairing of the two biggest franchises for DC which was fun.  I did enjoy how most of the stories convalesced together in the final issue.  That was nice.  It was also nice to see Superman drawn in a way that made him actually seem like a mentor who has aged since the beginning.

I was a little offended with how carrying the trend of Damien being a jerk, he’s made yet another comment about Stephanie being fat or not – basically – a skinny ass, busty, big hipped, typical comic book female.  I think she’s one of the few mainstream female characters that might just happen to have a real body.

The ending of the series was a bit goofy, and totally feels like a lead-in to War of the Supermen.  Oh well.  Overall, if you want an introduction to some new characters that are staples for their universe(s), then check this out.

Heard I should probably check out Siege.  I mean, what with people being torn in half!?  I’m just not a big Marvel guy… oh well.

Also, in case you were wondering: I’ve read all of 100 Bullets and caught up to date with Fables recently.  So, expect posts on that and Zot! soon.

Leave a Reply

