Top Ten Albums of 2009

18 Dec

Alright kids, this was probably one of the more difficult choices i’ve had to make in a long time; and I think that’s saying something, something really pathetic. However, my pathetic being is not the point of this whole thing, so we will move on. So, here we go, I give you my picks for the top ten best albums of 2009:

1. Grizzly Bear : Veckatimest

2. Animal Collective : Merriweather Post Pavilion

3. Yeah Yeah Yeahs : It’s Blitz

4. The XX : XX

5. Phoenix : Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

6. Heartless Bastards : The Mountain

7. Japandroids : Post-Nothing

8. Mew : No More Stories Are Told Today, I’m Sorry, They Washed Away

9. Handsome Furs : Face Control

10. Dan Auerbach : Keep it Hid

I had to make some tough cuts, and I’m sure Elliott will disagree, but here are some of the amazing runners-up; I insist you listen to them as well:

And So I Watch You From Afar : And So I Watch You From Afar; The Dirty Projectors : Bitte Orca; The Flaming Lips : Embryonic; Metric : Fantasies; Cymbals Eat Guitars : Why There Are Mountains; Eels : Hombre Lobo; Jarvis Cocker : Further Complications

I guess I could have made this whole thing into a top twenty, but that would have been far too easy.


Leave a Reply

