Loads of Blackest Night!

14 Nov

Did you know that there’s a lot of Blackest Night comics that I haven’t reviewed?  I mean… really.  I guess it’s time to play catch up on our fun mega event of DC.

There’s a lot of zombie bashing both positive and negative after the click.

blackest-night-event-20090717051719.jpg image by Godmera

So, the first batch of miniseries tying around the Blackest Night event ended within the last couple of weeks.

I have to say that really… it wasn’t too much of a success.  Sure, some parts were nice like seeing Deadman for a bit… and then not… and then having Dove suddenly becoming a surprising (even to herself) player in the event.  But, overall, it just didn’t all flow to me.  I think part of it was just that it was all too ridiculous for me. 

Batman was a big stupid stupid fest of stupidness in the last issue where The Flying Graysons and Tim Drake’s dad recreate their deaths in an incredibly elaborate way to get some sort of emotions out of the Big B and Red R.  Then, the whole Mr. Freeze gun/last ditch effort to hide themselves from the Black Lanterns was way too contrived.

Superman was just a big brawl fest.  Plus, the characters were pretty flat.  Sure, it was nice to learn that Superboy’s arm could have fear in it, and to see the Psycho Pirate back (and then his semi-useful mask used as a tool against the Black Lanterns… which crumbles in two frames which took a lot of rereading to figure out).  Overall, the miniseries just accomplished me feeling really bad for Smallville.  Poor one-dimensional stereotypical hickish townsfolk…

Titans was a love affair, hate affair, okay affair.  Part of me could see past the T&A fest when the story was okay, but then the other part of me was super offended.  I like Dove’s new role, but that’s about it.  Plus, it would have been cool to see Raven in this… but she wasn’t there.  Oh well.

Overall, the first batch of miniseries get an okay out of me… not really satisfying but not really terrible… they just don’t equal the power in the main feature.

25StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

The next grouping is the first two weeks of the ring promotional deal!  You know, when this was first announced (you’d get a promotional plastic ring with one of the Lantern Corps symbol on it for buying a certain comic) I thought it was a great marketing ploy but I wasn’t too excited to buy some comics that I wouldn’t normally get.  Well, each one of them proved me wrong in their own little ways.

Doom Patrol #4:

Now, I’ve been meaning to read some of the classic Doom Patrol stories, but I just haven’t had the time.  I know there’s a giant mythos behind the group, but I can honestly say that I don’t really know any of it.  Now, all of the promotional books (thus far) have included a memory download for the Black Lantern ring to sort of bring new readers (as in the people just buying the comic for the ring) up to speed.  I don’t really feel that this one completely accomplished that unlike the other two.  Sure, it definitely helped a hell of a lot, but not completely.  Part of me liked the art in this comic and part of me didn’t… It looked good in some instances (most notably how the Black Lanterns have sort of a mummified look to them and the representation of emotions through the Black Lantern’s eyes now used as a common device in all of the Blackest Night books), but bads in others (I didn’t too much like the inking or coloring, really).  The reveal at the end was super interesting with Clifford Steele and has me considering picking up the next issue.  To tell you the truth, I didn’t read the back up feature… I really like J.M. Dematteis especially after Savior 28, but to have a back up feature and then a preview for an upcoming book sort of steals away from the flow.

3StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

R.E.B.E.L.S. #10

First things first, I really loved the art in this comic.  The highly stylized use of a thin line and the super cool inking with dashed lines to show texture (especially on faces) was just way too neat.  The facial expressions are over the top and yet spot on.

Anyway, this issue follows Braniac 2 and 3… I knew a little bit about the different Braniacs, but the Memory Download beginning was a nice refresher.  My question was why does Vril Drox (Braniac 2) still hang out with a giant posse (including Kanjar Ro) when he has robots to do his shit for him?

Oh well, the reveal at the end was priceless and shows that something done before in the Sinestro Corps War can be done again and still have a kickass effect.

Plus, Black Lantern Harbinger’s in here… and she’s not that whiny!

I’m definitely considering picking up the next one, and this review’s sort of sparse because the comic mostly speaks for itself.

35StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Booster Gold #26

Now, I have a love/hate relationship with Booster Gold… He’s a showboat who’s now on the right track, but that still doesn’t forgive for his past mistakes of being sort of a stupid character.  Like everyone else (mostly), I feel like 52 definitely vindicated him a lot (which makes me think… are we ever going to see how Animal Man is dealing with Blackest Night?), but there’s still some problems in his comic now.

Despite having an unbalanced relationship with Booster Gold, I’ve always liked Ted Kord Blue Beetle… mostly because the first issue I read with him in it was Infinite Crisis and him being all badass with Max Lord and getting his brains blown out.

Overall, I came out of reading this comic saying aloud “Holy shit! That was a lot better than I thought it would be.”

From Booster revisiting one of his failures to the relationship with the new Blue Beetle, I really thought this issue excelled, and there’s no doubt that I will buy the next comic.  Part of the reason this comic works so well is that we know Ted Kord’s going to come bursting in at some point, but Dan Jurgens holds it off until the end and instead works on developing/reminding the reader of Booster and BBs friendship and characters.  That makes the sickening reveal at the end so much better.

Does anyone else find that Ted Kord’s nose looks really weird and a little uncharacteristic of him in life despite being all decaying…?  Also, couldn’t they have made his costume on the head sink in just a bit to represent the head wound…?

Nevertheless,

4StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Our next grouping is the actual main event players a la Green Lantern, Corps, and Blackest Night.

Green Lantern #47

You know, I really don’t care much about Hal Jordan anymore.  Sure, he’s cool, but he’s just a Batman in space with a ring…  The stars of this book are the other players: Sinestro, Larfleeze, and Atrocitus.  Holy shit do I still want them to stay around when this is all over.  They’ve had such little screen time (excluding Sinestro) that I really want them to play out for much longer.  Hell!  Atrocitus gets his heart ripped out by the Inversions (who look super neat) like everyone else and ends up still living because he doesn’t need a heart because he’s such a badass.

Too bad Abin Sur doesn’t stay around for a bit longer… I guess he’s more important for the ideal and the standard of being the best Green Lantern ever than actually an interesting character.

Unfortunately, this comic doesn’t accomplish what it’s meant to, and that’s making Green Lantern seem interesting… it’s a bit of a sign of bad tidings when your lead character’s outshined by others.

Still, a respectable:

35StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Green Lantern Corps #42

Stuff on Oa increases the shit up… there’s a lot of characters and I feel like only Kilowog gets a decent amount of treatment.

Sure, Kyle Rayner’s sacrifice at the end is pretty neat, but after just seeing something similar with Sodom Yat, the effect is lessened.  Plus, in the whole Origins and Omens thing that came out to get people excited about Blackest Night, Kyle was all painting a mural… So, I know that this isn’t going to last.

I don’t know… this comic just sort of felt like a placeholder in the event to find out what’s happening elsewhere.  Hmm…

25StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Blackest Night #4:

Do the Justice League villains on the front of this cover really play much of a role on the inside… no… but they look cool.

Wow, but isn’t the part in Gotham so neat… Scarecrow just walking around and stares down Black Lantern Azrael (who looks super cool with that hood even if it’s a bit like Black Lantern Hawk).

Then, Luthor’s being a badass.

Then, Mera is suddenly a power player with the Flash and Atom… the new Big Three.  Then, Jason fights Ronnie and makes me want to see what happens.  Then, Atom gives a pep talk that sort of back fires (sadly) but rips a guy apart.

Then, in two pages in creepy near silence, Nekron rises… as does all of Coast City.

45StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

Leave a Reply

