Catching up On My Comics

10 Sep

I’m about to unveil a slew of comics… a slew!

Spurred by the whole Disney/Marvel $4 billion dollar deal and Warner Bros. announcing their introduction of DC Entertainment with Paul Levitz (and his mustache) stepping down as President of DC, I decided it was about time that I unveiled my many comics I’ve been reading in Review format.  I’m going to keep these reviews shorter just for the whole enormity of all of the comics I’m reviewing…  Plus, I’m mostly just posting reviews of the good ones.

 

Batman and Robin #3:

Quietly’s Art is amazing, chilling, perverse, and fun.  Morrison’s restraining himself so far on the writing duties while still keeping very creepy.  Had my doubts of this series at first, but now it’s pretty damn amazing.  Quietly will be back after a stint of not being on pencil duties for awhile.

I love this issue.  For fans and the curious alike.  Very approachable.

45StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Invincible Iron Man #17:

By far the best series, in my opinion, coming out of Marvel right now… which sais a lot since I don’t care for Marvel as much (however, I admit that I don’t read as much of their stuff).  It’s easy to jump on board to this series.  This is what a comic book should be.

45StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Dark Wolverine #77:

Daken’s turning into one hell of a character and I’m enjoying his run of being the lead in this comic.  He’s seriously fucked up which is fun for all of us.

4StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Green Lantern #45:

Finally, a blackest night tie-in that focuses on the other corps!  I loved this… many surprises and one hell of a script.  completely buy worthy.  Hell, almost anything Blackest Night related is buy worthy.

4StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Blackest Night: Titans #1:

Way better than I expected it to be.  Created genuine interest on my part on the characters of Hawk and Dove.  Is peace the secret to the Blackest Night?

4StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Invincible #65:

Did Atom Eve really have to make her boobs any bigger?  I mean, they were already pretty huge… oh well.  Still a great post-Conquest issue that’s a little predictable while remaining frightfully unpredictable… if that makes any sense.

4StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Red Robin #3:

Badass cover!  Alright interior art… I’m sort of happy that another artist is taking over #7… Plus I saw the preview off of The Source – DC’s blog – about what’s coming in Red Robin… let’s just say there’s a caveman painting at the end of Final Crisis that’s about to be discovered… and an “I told you so” dance by Tim Drake.

35StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Barack the Barbarian #2:

Ann Coulter’s in this one… it’s fucking hillarious.  Not as strong as the first issue, but still hillarious.  Sarah Palin may end up being a Super HeroiHOT…

35StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Batgirl #1:

Stephanie Brown, one of my all-time favorites, gets the cowl, and I’m super happy.  I was a bit confused if Steph’s starting college and yet Tim Drake’s 17… is Steph a year older?  I saw the new costume… fucking awesome.  Still, the whole Babs-confronting-a-new-Bat-Character thing has been done as a cliffhanger so many times… way to use the cripple.

35StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Chew #4:

Not the road I expected this series to take after last issue, but I still liked it.  At first, I hated this series, now I really like it.

35StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Batman #690:

This issue was alright… would have liked to see a bit more Damien to decide whether or not I hate him… I love Dick Grayson in the role, but the whole 2 Face Batman costume reveal which seemed like a joke in the promos of Batman R.I.P. has turned to be incredibly stupid.  2 Face was seemingly more evil when he had on just his suit and was tracking Dick down.

3StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Star Wars Invasion #3:

I really like the ideas behind this series… I like the art.  I love seeing Luke Skywalker’s mega-ultra-powers being even bigger and badassier than The Force Unleashed.  The writing just isn’t tight enough… and the miniseries seems to be going way too fast.

3StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Justice League: Cry for Justice #3:

Clayface’s sure are being used a lot lately… I liked this series in the beginning, and I love the art… It’s just taking too long to get anywhere while trying too hard.

3StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Blackest Night: Superman #1:

Cool use of emotion on Superman… Pretty useless otherwise.  Unless you count portraying stereotypical southerners…

2StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

Leave a Reply

