Two Very Different Love Stories

4 Sep

Still of Rose Byrne and Hugh Dancy in Adam Still of Zooey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon-Levitt in (500) Days of Summer 

The advertisement/tagline of “500 Days of Summer” says, “This is not a love story. This is a story about love.”  I suppose that could go with both of the films… They both entertain and hint at the idea, but do either of them actually achieve it?

500 Days of Summer

Alright, Megan and I saw this one a couple of weeks ago.  I have to say it didn’t disappoint, but it didn’t make me fall in love.

Like I mentioned in an earlier post.  Zooey Deschanel was way more entertaining in her 3-4 episodes as a guest star on “Weeds.”  The quirky magic is lost in this film.  There are hints at it, but I just don’t get it.

The narrative structure of the film itself works, but it’s not incredible.  Tom is played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt who is loveable but sort of a whiny bitch who either acts too young or too old for his age.  His last bid at youth is being stuck working for a card company.

I’m not too sure why the advertisesments make so much about Zooey Deschanel and her role as Summer because, really, the character isn’t around and seen on all of those 500 Days.  It just isn’t that apparent why Summer is so neat or interesting or special or amazing to the audience as she is to Tom.  There’s not too much interesting about her aside from that she dresses like an older hipster and doesn’t believe in love.  I don’t understand why Tom has such a big thing for her.

It also weirded me out when the two of them talked about kinky sex because how Deschanel played Summer, she did not exactly come across as a sexual being.

The film’s ultimately a pastiche of everything (techniques, story structure, etc.) that used to be independent but has now been swallowed whole by the mainstream film industries.  It tries too hard.

Nevertheless, it’s interesting and I enjoyed myself.  I did laugh aloud very hard on one certain joke and chuckled at a few others.

3StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

ADAM

This film was one of the previews for “500 Days of Summer,” and I must admit that it was a great, well-done preview.  The movie, on the other hand, is debatable.

First things first, Hugh Dancy does a phenomenal job playing the title character.  Adam happens to have Asperger’s Syndrome and can’t really recognize people’s real emotions like when they’re being sarcastic.  He’s recently buried his father and can’t accept change.  He soon meets his new upstairs neighbor, Beth, and their romance begins shakily.

I thought the space suit would play a bigger role in the film.

There’s not necessarily a happy ending in this movie and it sort of implies that people with mental disabilities are going to get screwed… alright, not really but a lesser viewed audience member might take that away from the film.

I just sort of felt that the characters’ reactions to Adam’s condition weren’t all that real.  People with Asperger’s appear as normal people, but their brains work completely differently.  So, I find it hard that so many of the characters could sort of accept Adam’s awkwardness from the beginning but then call him equivalent to a child later.

My best friend’s brother has down syndrome among other things, and I didn’t see any of the magic in Adam’s character as I see in my friend’s brother.  Sure, there’s a sparkle here and there, but I think the only people who can truly convey the feeling of the condition can be people who have Asperbergers.  The director/writer hasn’t done too much so I really can’t tell you his perspective or previous knowledge.  I just feel that their was a little bit of special magic missing between the character who had the condition and the other characters.

The release of this film also would have been better sometime late in the Autumn like in November or something, because it’s hard for me to enjoy a film when there are a lot of snowy scenes and it’s sunny outside.

That doesn’t mean it was an awful film.  I found it interesting and compelling on Adam’s side of things, but the secondary plot with Beth’s family isn’t that entertaining.  Frankly, if it’s called “Adam,” then I want a movie that focuses primarily on him the whole movie not just the start and finish where it meanders in between.

35StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

Leave a Reply

