Blackest Night… Blackest Night… Zombies!

18 Aug

Alright… Alright… So, I need to catch up even more on my reviews.  I was looking for a real quick Super HeroiHOT I could whip out, but opted for this instead.  Don’t worry, I have a couple Super HeroiHOTs in the works… I’m just, you know, moving and shit.

Blackest Night #2… or why you shouldn’t piss off Aquaman…

Have you really been getting that urge to see some sweet ass zombie sharks called by a droolin, dead Aquaman devour some Atlantean Guards?  Well, this comic delivers!

To be honest, at first I didn’t like this comic as much as the first because it jumped around eccentrically.  After a second read, though, I discovered I was still very much in love with our savior (Geoff Johns).  I really wish that there’d be some more focus on the other Corps, though.  We get introduced to all of these sweet ass corps and they’re part of the reason why Blackest Night came… but we just hear or get a glimpse of them fighting each other.

Pariah being resurrected was incredibly chilling.  Kudos to Johns.  I was literally freaking out when I saw Pariah… Sure, most comic readers won’t recognize him because he was only around for like 12 issues, ever or something.  Nevertheless, his story is that he would appear in worlds right before they were destroyed by the antimonitor, and he would never get any peace.  He finally got peace in death, but now he’s resurrected which is a super bad sign.

Other highlights were Deadman’s single page of him begging frantically over his grave for his body to not reanimate and join the Black Lantern Corps, and the Spectre suddenly becoming a Black Lantern.  I feel Deadman will play a key part (for once) and that Johns is really hitting his stried by introducing old and new characters without the reader ever getting too confused.

45StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Green Lantern Corps #39

I probably have an unhealthy obsession with Bzzzd.  So, I was just a little pissed off that the cover advertised the cute little undead fly, but he hardly made an appearance inside.

Nevertheless, the battle begins/continues as the Green Lantern Crypt is raided by Black Lantern Rings.  Morro’s, the Cryptkeeper, badass attitued about why the dead should remain dead and respected and fighting off all the Black Lanterns by himself was impressive, and has definitely shot him up to being one of the coolest Lanterns. 

I really hate Mongul… what a bastard.  He needs to die, but not be resurrected.

The issue had bang and pop, but it could go further.

35StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Blackest Night: Batman #1

While scowering the intrawebz, I found not that many reviews that liked this book… I, on the other hand, thought it was pretty awesome.

I like Deadman.  Despite his ridiculous collar, I think he’s pretty damn cool.  I’m really interested in how Batman’s going to fit into all of this Blackest Night stuff, too.  Batman being Dick Grayson since Bruce Wayne’s somehow fitting in… with his skull.

The book succeeds at both pissing me off with Damien and making him like him just a bit… so, that’s a plus.  Also, I like how some resurrections of Black Lanterns are hitting a bit closer to home by the non-superpowered parents of both Grayson and Drake being resurrected.  However, that makes me think about why aren’t more people who don’t have superpowers being resurrected.  I mean, does the guy who’s causing this whole event (Nekron, apparently) have a list of every superhero and their families and just raises those people up.  Why not just raise up all of the dead?  Hopefully this will be answered, otherwise it might become the main fault of this whole series.

35StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

 

Green Lantern: First Flight

So, I watched this last night, and I was pretty pleased with the whole thing.  Granted, it doesn’t have anything to do with Blackest Night…

The story’s a variation on the Hal Jordan origin story.  The most changed thing was definitely Abin Sur (the guy who Jordan’s ring came from) killer/reasons for being killed.  Plus, I sort of thought Sinestro’s whole betrayal came way too fast.  Well, and his giant weapon at the end was pretty goofy.

Nevertheless, the film was fun and well animated with an occasional touch of 3D.  The voice acting is really well played.  However, I don’t really think the film captured some of the personalities of the Green Lantern Corps.  Kilowog seemed completely off.  Plus, some of the Green Lanterns in the film appear from different time eras.  Also, all of the Guardians had names which totally doesn’t work for me.  Only Ganthet and Sayd eventually develop names, and Scar earns a nickname of sorts.

It probably didn’t help my movie viewing experience when, during the climatic Sinestro versus Hal Jordan fight, I was stung by a scorpion.  I mean, here I am, minding my own business and completely riveted by the fight when I feel a creepy crawly on my shoulder.  Figuring it was just a moth or something, I brush it off only to get stung in return.  Exclaming “FUCK!” I realized right away that it was a goddamn scorpion.  To add insult to injury, the thing was only like an inch long.

Overall, as a film, this movie really works and delivers.  Plus, if you listen closely… you’ll hear good ol’ Kurtwood Smith as Kanjar Ro… Oh, who’s he you ask?

Um, yeah.  Red Foreman.

35StarRatingscopy.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

Leave a Reply

