The Long Engagement… with Charles the Moth!

29 Jun

fullfacemoth.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

Even as a child I knew Mothra, Godzilla’s sparring partner, was some sort of lame Japanese joke.  Many people are afraid of moths for some reason unknown to me.  They’re just the butterflies of the night with more powder on their wings and a strange attraction towards light.  I guess it could be because they love to accidentally fly into you… it’s a bit of a curse for them, I suppose.

Nevertheless, I’ve never been afraid of moths… actually, quite frankly, I love moths; that’s why I adopted them into my name for nearly everything of Mechanistic Moth.

So, imagine my delight when, as Troy and Nicole were leaving from checking out their wedding invitation photos and I was locking up the house, I spotted a gigantic thing fly past the door.  I quickly stepped outside and saw this blur fly by again… it was a beautiful, gigantic moth!  Huge… as you can tell by the size of it compared to my face.  Instantly, I ran inside and found a tupperware container to catch it in, but it took a couple minutes to find the lid.  I was very afraid I had lost my chance to study the specimen up close (reminds me of little Ned sending in the fly to Steve Zissou).  Nevertheless, I opened the door and the gigantic thing flew into the house!  I goofily ran around with my hands up in the air trying to catch the thing in the container, and I probably ended up catching it much sooner than I should have due to chance.

Alas, it was clear that the thing was afraid because it would not stop frantically flapping its wings and buzzing it around… I showed it off to my Dad who had been bitten by a spider and some fire ants earlier yesterday and my sister.  Oh, and also a scorpion was in my house yesterday.  They were surprised at the size of the thing, but we really couldn’t get a good look of it.  I showed Megan the moth over webcam, and then it came time to release it.  I took Megan (on the computer) outside with the newly dubbed Charles to release him… He didn’t seem to want to leave the container once the lid was off, but then he finally flew………. and landed on my finger.

Imagine tiny little hooks that don’t hurt but tickle and that’s what it felt like to have Charles climbing on me.  He flew off of me a couple times, but he always came back to my finger like a good little boy (or girl).  I grabbed Lillian to take some photos, and Charles happened to fly off of me for long enough to capture the attention of Bandit, our cat, but I got him briskly before she could.

With an up-close look, I was amazed at his colorings of being primarily only on the gray-scale except for a couple dots on his sides that were bright orange.  He really is quite the magnificent creature.

After taking some photos and leaving Megan outside having to listen to our other cat, Gizmo, meow annoyingly, I came back to release my vibrant new friend.  We said our goodbyes, and I set Charles on some railing of the house… It was a hard goodbye, but I hope that he felt that he was loved.

Here are some more pictures of our time together:

mothflutteringchin.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

proudtobeamothlover.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

Charlesuponfinger.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

Charles the Moth and Elliott Sawyer
June 28, 2009 11:14PM – June 28, 2009 11: 56PM
Their Love was One for the Ages

mothkiss.jpg picture by PseudoPsychic

Leave a Reply

