Questioning Purpose, Reboot, Quirks, and Blood

5 Jun

I meant to post last night some comic reviews, but I just became too tired.

I’ll post later about the stresses going on in my life (all of the family’s in town) so look out for that.

I’m putting these reviews from best to worst this week because I don’t want people to have to slug through the shit to get to the good stuff like in the other posts even if I may be funnier on the shitty ones.  So, here we go:

The Life and Times of Savior 28 #2:

So, I gave the last issue a grand 5/5 stars… seriously, I’m such a hardass, and I can’t believe I did that.  However, this series is turning into something incredibly amazing… and, dare I say it, revolutionary.  Sure sure, non-comic readers, something revolutionary for the comic industry doesn’t sound that grand to you, but then ask yourselves why the comic industry has been so damn focused on superheroes for 80 years?  Okay, yeah, this comic is a superhero comic, but it’s breaking the genre barriers of superheroes and bringing something much more distraught to the process; why do superhero comics – in some ways – glorify violence?

The comic continues from the last… which, I truly did not think was possible.  I like how it’s showing multiple angles of the same event/scene which includes even scenes from last issue.  I found the sequence of Savior 28 trying to kill himself during his second mental breakdown incredibly disturbing but brilliant.  There’s such subtle variation in each well balanced frame that sets a surreal and painful tone.

This issue primarily broadens the idea at the end of issue one with man’s inhumanity towards man.  It also covers how, in superhero comics, the superhero always is so moral, but in their quest for justice they end up hurting more than helping.

I suppose this issue’s goal is to make the reader feel disturbed as Savior 28 feels disturbed, and yet, his realization of peace still makes the reader support him.  I want the other superheroes to understand that fighting gets you nowhere but that’s all they know.

This issue does do things the first one did not.  Sure, I wondered about how’s and what’s in the first, but the issue seemed pretty self-contained.  This one hints at future storylines or narrations.

The art’s still throws me off a bit, but I believe that’s the point.  I also believe that the art’s trying to parody other superhero comics.  Please, pick this up… I’ve reread it often, and I have become incredibly devoted because this new comic series isn’t just doing something revolutionary; it’s questioning morality and the idea of power.  Sure, it may be in an unnatural form for some people, but you will not be disappointed if you pick this up.

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

 

Batman and Robin #1:

So, I’ve read probably 5 reviews of this which prompted me to go and pick it up yesterday.  Yep, it’s good.  I love Frank Quietly’s art, and there’s lots of little treasures within this comic.

Not so appealing for new readers.

Damien’s costume is way cooler than Dick’s.  Seriously, the hood on the Robin costume kicks so much ass.  Dick just sort of looks like and out of work disc jockey looking for a new set of sweat pants while wearing his halloween costume from before he lost 60 pounds… meaning the bat-suit looks kind of dumb.

Nevertheless, I like the openness to the characters.  Now, I’m not as anti-Grant Morrison (the writer) as a lot of reviewers out there who bitterly gave this book 4 or more stars.  I actually liked Batman R.I.P…. and, when I could understand it, Final Crisis.

I enjoyed the introduction to new bad guys that will hopefully appear in other bat titles, and I think there’s a good thing going here (even if only the first three issues are going to be Quietly’s pencil work) which will hopefully sweep across all of the new bat-titles coming out this summer.  I don’t want dumb things (Battle for the Cowl), and please, keep these two in their respective positions as little mister Timothy Drake/Wayne searches the globe for his adoptive father for preferably a year or two in comic-book time (i.e. about 4-10 years of publishing real life time).

Rating: 4/5 Stars

 

Kingdom Come:

Sure, this graphic novel came out in ’96, but I just finished it today… so, I’m going to review the damn thing!

The writing’s great.  The art’s beautiful.  I loved it.

It’s basically a future look at today’s heroes in an alternative reality for the heroes.  I feel like it could be incredibly accessible to non-comic book readers, but they’re going to have to get a sense of who some of the characters are beforehand.  My issue came with a handy chart for many of the characters which I only discovered after I was done reading it. 

The art seriously looks like water color with flair and brings about a more refined sense to the comic while adding a sense of grandeur with so many super”heroes” running rampant and attacking each other with no worry for the civilians they may endanger.

There are many religious (Christian) under and overtones throughout the book, but it’s not in anyway forceful.  They’re available to give a better context to the possibly approaching armageddon, and I believe the create a much juicier context for the story to work with.

Here’s my brief plug for the book:
  Disenfranchised Superman comes back.  Super”heroes” tearing the world apart.  Batman old and battered but well in control.  Lex Luthor.  Wonder Woman forceful and ready for War.  Armageddon.  The Spectre.  God?

Rating: 4/5 Stars

 

Battle for the Cowl: Gotham Gazette: Batman Alive?

Where the hell was Stephanie Brown (Spoiler check out the SuperheroiHOT page for more info.) not in other Battle for the Cowl books!?  Instead, she gets relegated to the shittiest ones.  That just pisses me off.

I did like how the writing made references to other stories/comics of Battle for the Cowl… that actually happened in the comics.  You know, I can only handle so many references to gang wars without seeing it before I stop believing…

Most of the Art was just off for me.  Some characters changed appearance within their own mini stories (the comic’s seperated be a couple different stories which have different artists) like different hair color or facial shape.  I did enjoy the cuts across Tim’s face, though.

However, the Vicki Vale part was fucking stupid.  What the hell you goddamn sexist bastards!?  You just have to draw every woman in a way that exploits them especially with her.  Plus, the writing makes it seem almost as if she stumbled upon the Bat-family’s secret by accident then by her own journalistic reasoning.  Plus, there’s a page in which she’s figuring the secret out with a pinboard smothered with newspaper clippings and she’s in her underwear and a t-shirt.  If a empowered female reporter was to actually do some investigating, don’t you think they would do it in a notebook rather than plastering a wall like some little school girl with a crush on a boy band?

DUMB DUMB DUMB… otherwise known as a summation of the recent series as a whole.

Rating: 1.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

